2012 Purple Hawk club champs

Ty Liljander won his third Purple Hawk club championship by going 4-under over the two-day tourney.

Members of the Purple Hawk Country Club could not have asked for better weather for the 2012 Club Championship on Aug. 4-5. Eighty-three golfers participated in this year’s two-day event.

Ty Liljander (Club Champion 2009, 2011) had an outstanding weekend of golf, firing a 71 on Saturday and a 69 on Sunday for a tourney total of 4-under 140, running away with his third Club Championship by 13 strokes.

The Women’s Club Championship came down to the 36th   hole of the competition. Kelly Brown (Club Champ 2010) was crowned 2012 champ by just one stroke over Kathy Johnson. Brown shot an 88 on Saturday and carded a 90 on Sunday for a tourney total of 178. Johnson earned the 2012 Women’s Net Champion with a two-day total of 3-under 141.

“Downtown” Kelly Brown (right) won her second Hawk Women’s championship, holding off
Kathy Johnson (left, ‘Net’ champ) by one stroke. Photos & copy courtesy of Matt Grell, Purple Hawk

The tightest finish of the weekend came out of the Men’s Senior Division. Don Pyykola needed two extra holes in a sudden death playoff to beat Chuck Osterud to become this year’s Senior Club Champion in the Gross Division. Pyykola shot 79-76 for a weekend total of 155. Don also won this year’s Super Senior (Gross) Club Championship.

Purple Hawk CC Flight champions

Men’s Championship – Ty Liljander – 140

Women’s Championship (Gross) – Kelly Brown – 178

Women’s Championship (Net) – Kathy Johnson – 141

Men’s 1st Flight – Scott Westman – 148 (Net)

Men’s 2nd Flight – Chuck Osterud – 139 (Net)

Men’s 3rd Flight – Joel Grams – 140 (Net)

Men’s 4th Flight – Lee Hesselroth – 139 (Net)

Purple Hawk Men’s Senior & Super Senior club champ Don Pyykola.

Men’s Senior Championship (Gross) – Don Pyykola – 155

Men’s Senior Championship (Net) – Chuck Osterud – 139

Men’s Super Senior Championship (Gross) – Don Pyykola – 155

Men’s Super Senior Championship (Net) – Al Anlauf- 137

Grandy Nine women’s club champs

The Wednesday Morning Women’s League at Grandy Nine GC wrapped up its season Aug. 8. Earning the league title were Gayle Bostrom (left) and Jean Jenner. Finishing as runners-up were Pam Nickles and Joanie Smith. All ages and abilities are welcome in this fun league; to get on the 2013 list, contact the Grandy Nine clubhouse (689-1417).Photo submitted










2012 Cambridge Chamber Cup hosted Aug. 10 at Hawk

Over 70 golfers and sponsors enjoyed a beautiful day of fun, food and networking on Aug. 10 at the Purple Hawk CC. Although no one won John Hirsch’s Cambridge Motors’ Hole-In-One Car, a multitude of other prizes contributed were won in the Cambridge Cup Drawing.

Grand Casino Hinckley was the major event sponsor this year. Many of the Hole Sponsors provided games for participants throughout the course, and Minnco Credit Union provided all the golfers a nice goodie bag. The Hawk Bar and Grill served a delicious dinner, and Chris Grace of the Purple Hawk CC and his staff made sure the event ran smoothly.

The golf committee of Rich Brown, Jon Swanson, Don Brown, and Eric Champion want to thank all sponsors, volunteers, and participants who made the day a great success.

Chamber Cup champions

Women’s Team Champion: Team Purple Hawk (Marlene Laase, Char Reinhart, Jeanne Bradshaw, Jean Laase)

Men’s Team Champion: John Hirsch Motors (Don Brown, Adam Page, Nate, Scott)

Mixed Team Champion:  Minnco Credit Union (Steve Oien, Jon Swanson, Chris Daniels, Gwen Dahlin).