Regular Meeting Minutes

January 23, 2017

The regular school board meeting was called to order by Chair Steven Eklund at 7:00 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Members present: S. Eklund, M. Thompson, T. Cuda, A. Londgren, A. Flowers, R. Wyganowski, J. Paitl and Supt. Gagner.

Motion by R Wyganowski, second by J. Paitl to adopt the agenda. Carried.

Motion by J. Paitl, second by M. Thompson to approve the minutes of the December 19th Regular and the January 9th Organizational School Board meetings, approve the January bills $1,140,053.35; and, accept the January Treasurers report. The board approved the lane change requests for Beth Stone, HS math teacher from MA to MA+15, Step 10 and Andrea DeRushia, 2nd grade teacher, from BA+15 to BA+30, Step 10; and, accepted the resignation of Trista Kirchberg, HS special ed teacher, contingent upon hiring a suitable replacement. Carried

Motion by M. Thompson, second by J. Paitl to acknowledge the January 2017 donations for the purposes requested: for clothes for BAES health room $20 value from Tusen Tak; for supermileage $2,000 from East Central Corn Growers; $50 from Cambridge State Bank; $100 from Yerigan Construction Co.; $30 from Rockys H20; $250 from Jerry Strothers; $100 from Joyce & Gary Hunt Litchy; $100 from Pizza Pub;, $25 from Northpost Inc.; $250 from Isanti VFW; $150 from East Central Electric; for FFA $200 from Marion Larson, $1,000 from an anonymous donor; and $550 value of Greenhouse custom steel from Derek Becker; for the maintenance dept $170 value of 2 Uscan lever locks from Bur-lock; and, for Angel Fund $200 from Sue Bradford & Chuck Larson. Carried

No comments during Open Forum.

Alec Downing, Student Council Rep. reviewed their written report. Members volunteered to help set up the cots, greet donors, serve treats and many other jobs for the blood drive on January 12. The annual Pennies for Patients drive will be January 30 thru the 2nd week of February. They will offer many opportunities to students and others to donate. Student Council will be helping with a food drive during March to collect food from advisories. There will contests and prizes.

Tammi Johnson, PLC leader shared for the social studies/English group. This PLC has been looking at aligning curriculum, standard mapping and ways to improve MCA scores with an emphasis on reading. They are working on ways to prepare students for career investigation, creating their resumes and cover letters, applications, and possibly job shadowing and mock interviews.

Jeff Eklund, Elem Principals, written report was reviewed. Congratulations to Kim Beidleman, ELL & reading teacher, for being chosen by her peers as the T.E.A.M. award winner for January. A Donors Choose page was created by Bryan Johnson. He has already raised enough funds to purchase an instrument for a needy student, and several boxes of reeds. He thanked Tracy Fix, Katie Blomdahl, Lori Lemieux and Candi Lund for their work on the School of Excellence application which is nearing completion.

Shawn Kuhnke, Principal/AD, reviewed his written report. Team Wrestling Sectional Tournaments begin in Rush City on February 14 and individual sectional wrestling tournaments on February 24th and 25th in Grand Rapids. The American Wrestling Federation will be in Braham on February 11th. He stated that the Youth basketball tournament on January 21st and 22nd ranks right up there with the best.

The board reviewed the Community Ed report. Registrations are already coming in for upcoming classes. There will be two sessions of the Timberwolves and Lynx basketball clinics offered on March 25th. Pre-registration is required.

Supt. Gagner reviewed his written report. The 3rd Annual Braham Business Expo will be on April 27th from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. The school will have a booth there. He attended the RRSEC Executive Board committee meeting on December 14th, Grandy Lions meeting on January 2nd, the Braham Chamber of Commerce meeting on January 10th, and the MSBA Leadership Conference on January 12th and 13th.

Supt. Gagner congratulated the following staff, students and community members for their accomplishments as Braham HONORS recipients. They are: Butch & Dixie Erickson, Lana Regal, Jaelle Walker, Marie Meyer, Ellen Cunningham, Marion Larson, Edie Kaunonen, Harriet Lidke, MerrieAnn Hesselroth, Cody Carlson, Lizzie Altendorf, Alec Downing, Amelia Fiedler, Amelia Laman, Chelsey Swanson, Montana Wagner, Liz Bombard, Nicole Brewer, Ashley Erbstoesser, Cody Carlson, Emma Downing, Josh Klingensmith, Zach Anderson, Emily Lindquist, Hunter Giffrow, Aex Kurvers, Isabelle Dorey, Destiny Roeschlein, Kaylie Paitl, Halie Jones, Lauren Kreyer, Jasper Taylor, Alec Downing, and Tyler Lancrain.

School board members attended various events including, basketball games, wrestling events, the retiree hosted Holiday Open House, Christmas concerts, All-Conference Band and Choir, SEE General Assembly, MSBA conference, and CEU committee meetings.

Motion by T. Cuda, second by A. Flowers to adopt the Resolution Directing the Administration to Make Recommendations for Reductions in Programs and Positions and Reasons Therefore, if needed. Carried. A copy of said resolution shall be in the official minutes book.

The board agreed by consensus for T. Johnson, Dean of Students and S. Kuhnke, Principal/AD to continue their research into a possible Washington D.C. trip for the 2018 – 7th and 8th grade students in June of 2018. They will be sending letters to all of this years 5th and 6th grade parents inviting them to an informational meeting. This trip would be totally parent funded.

First reading of policy #404 – Employment Background checks.

Motion by M. Thompson, second by A. Flowers to adopt the following policies that were up for cycle review: #533 Wellness – Student, #601 Graduation Standards and #603 – Curriculum Development. Carried.

Motion by A. Flowers, second by A. Londgren to set a working board meeting for Wednesday, February 22nd at 6:15 p.m. for the purpose of discussing the budget; immediately followed by a special school board meeting for the purpose of conducting the semi-annual superintendents performance review.

Chair Eklund reminded all present of the Regular School Board meeting to be held on Monday, February 27th at 7:00 p.m. in B100 – Community Room.

Motion by A. Flowers, second by M. Thompson to adjourn the meeting. Chair Eklund adjourned the meeting at 7:40 p.m.

Attest: Allison Londgren, Clerk Attest: Steven Eklund, Chair

Published in the

Isanti County News

March 8, 2017


Comments Closed