C-I School Board reappoints Hitchings as chair

The Cambridge-Isanti School Board reappointed Tim Hitchings as chair during its reorganizational meeting Jan. 9.

Also appointed were Gary Hawkins as vice chair, Lynn Wedlund as clerk and Mike Streiff as treasurer.

The board also approved its compensation policy that has not changed since January 2009.

School Board members will receive $250 per month for regular and special school board meetings. The $250 also includes all non-pen and paper meetings that may or may not be board-related that board members are asked to represent or attend. This includes, but is not limited to, all representative committees, any school building Adopt-A-School visits, student and staff recognition and award programs, school open houses and back-to-school workshops.

Board members will receive $65 for participating in all standing and ad hoc committees under four hours and $130 for committee meetings over four hours. Board members will receive this same compensation for attending any MSBA/NSBA-sponsored meetings or other board-related pen and paper meetings. Board members will receive this same compensation for attending any board-related educational meetings, seminars, and conventions approved by the board chair.

The chair will receive an additional monthly stipend of $100, clerk $60 and treasurer $60.

The board also approved its 2014 regular board meeting schedule, with meetings typically being held the third Thursday after the first Monday of the month at 7 p.m. in the community room at the Education Center. It also designated the Isanti County News as the 2014 official newspaper.