Commission on Judicial Selection recommends Tenth Judicial District candidates to Gov. Dayton

gaveljudgeThe Commission on Judicial Selection recently announced it is recommending four candidates to Gov. Mark Dayton for consideration to fill the two current vacancies in Minnesota’s Tenth Judicial District.

These vacancies were created upon the retirements of the Honorable P. Hunter Anderson and the Honorable Elizabeth H. Martin. Judge Anderson’s seat will be chambered at Cambridge in Isanti County and Judge Martin’s seat will be chambered at Center City in Chisago County.

Suzanne Bollman: Bollman currently serves as an Assistant Sherburne County Attorney, where she is responsible for criminal prosecution, reviewing search warrants, advising law enforcement and law enforcement training. Previously, she was an Assistant Stearns County Attorney, an Assistant Benton County Attorney and an Assistant City Attorney for the City of Saint Cloud. Bollman was a member of the Supreme Court’s Gender Fairness Implementation Committee and is a union negotiator and steward for AFSCME.

Amy Brosnahan: Brosnahan currently serves as the Kanabec County Attorney, where her practice focuses on serious felony criminal prosecution and serving as legal advisor for the Kanabec County departments. Previously, Brosnahan was the Assistant Kanabec County Attorney and, prior to that, was an attorney at the law firm of Leonard, Street & Deinard, where she practiced intellectual property, products liability and construction litigation. Additionally, Brosnahan was a founding member of the Methamphetamine Task Force/Substance Abuse Coalition of Kanabec County.

Bridgid Dowdal: Dowdal is the Chief Legal Counsel for the Office of Inspector General at the Minnesota Department of Human Services. She previously served as Assistant Dean at the William Mitchell College of Law, as partner at the law firm of Dowdal & Dowdal, PLC, as an Assistant United States Attorney and as a trial attorney at the United States Department of Justice. Dowdal has been a member of the Minnesota Supreme Court Historical Society and the Minnesota Women Lawyers Leadership Award Selection Committee. She served on the Board of Directors for the SteppingStone Theatre for Children and actively supports charitable organizations including Habitat for Humanity and Race for the Cure.

Mark Schroeder: Schroeder is a shareholder at Briggs and Morgan, P.A., where his practice focuses primarily on civil litigation, including breach of contract, fraud, trade regulation, and consumer finance litigation. Prior to joining Briggs and Morgan in 1985, Schroeder was a law clerk to United States District Court Judge Donald D. Alsop.  Schroeder is a qualified neutral, a current member of the President’s Cabinet of the Boy Scouts Northern Star Council, and the former Director of the University of Minnesota College of Liberal Arts Alumni Society.

Minnesota’s Tenth Judicial District consists of Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Pine, Sherburne, Washington and Wright counties. An announcement of the appointments will be made following an interview process over the next few weeks.