Isanti driver earns top honor

Nathan Wick named state’s top 2012 truck driver

The Minnesota Trucking Association (MTA) named Nathan Wick, of Isanti, and a professional truck driver for UPS Freight in Blaine, as Minnesota’s 2012 Truck Driver of the Year.

Nathan Wick, of Isanti, is professional truck driver for UPS Freight in Blaine.
Nathan Wick, of Isanti, is professional truck driver for UPS Freight in Blaine.

The award was presented at the Minnesota Trucking Association Driver of the Year Awards Banquet on Thursday, Jan. 24, in Roseville.

Wick was selected from among a group of distinguished drivers (see list below) by a team of judges comprised of the division administrator of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, a captain from the Minnesota State Patrol and a director at the Minnesota Department of Transportation.

He was chosen based upon his safe driving record, job performance and community service. The Minnesota Truck Driver of the Year Program has been in existence for over 50 years.

During his 15 years as a professional truck driver, Wick has logged over 25,000 hours on the road without a single accident.

He is an organizer for the Special Olympics World’s Largest Truck Convoy, supporter of the Trucker Buddy International program connecting professional truck drivers to elementary school classrooms across the country as well as a participant in the annual Truck Driving Championships held by the Minnesota Trucking Association.

He was recently chosen to represent “America’s Road Team” as one of 19 “captains.” America’s Road Team is a prestigious program of the American Trucking Associations and enlists the “best of the best” drivers from across the country to volunteer about one week a month in public safety information events nationwide, rubbing elbows with fellow truckers, students, soccer moms, the media and even members of Congress.

About MTA

The MTA is a non-profit trade association representing the interests of Minnesota’s motor carrier industry since 1932.

With 720 member companies, the MTA is a powerful voice for the industry. Its mission is “to ensure that the trucking industry speaks with one voice by bringing together truckers, their employers and contractors, and allies to: Create a positive image for the industry; promote safe, environmentally clean and essential services; and encourage an economic and political environment that provides our industry with fair competition.” For more information visit

The 2012 Drivers of the Month and nominees:

• Greg Langford of Langford, Inc.

• Monte Kirby of Kane Transport

• Paul Butkowski of FedEx Freight

• David Schweich of Logistics Services, Inc.

• George Arndt of Bailey Nurseries, Inc.

• Brian Dietz of Valley Cartage MN

• Nathan Wick of UPS Freight

• Ernie Horsman of Lawrence Transportation Company

• Patrick Flanigan of SUPERVALU

• Chris Farrell of McFarland Truck Lines, Inc.

• Victor Quast of Bartels Truck Line Inc.

• David Skoog of Arfsten Transfer Inc.