Candidates file for local city, school board races

The filing period for Braham City Council, Cambridge City Council and Cambridge-Isanti School Board closed on Tuesday, Aug. 14 at 5 p.m.

Below is a listing of the candidates who filed; however, candidates do have until Thursday, Aug. 16 at 5 p.m. to withdraw their candidacy.

The candidates for Braham City Council, Cambridge City Council and Cambridge-Isanti School Board may receive one free filing statement announcing their candidacy in the Isanti County News. 

The candidates must submit their filing statement to the News by Friday, Aug. 24, for final publication in the Wednesday, Aug. 29 edition. Free filing statements for these races will not be published after the Aug. 29 edition unless as a paid advertisement.

The announcement needs to be 300 words or less, and may include the candidate’s photo. It should not include a candidate’s website, Facebook page, or other social media sites. Filing statements can be emailed to [email protected] or mailed to the Isanti County News, 234 S. Main St., Cambridge, MN 55008.

Filing statements for candidates whose filing period closed June 5 are no longer accepted unless as a paid advertisement.

The Isanti County News will publish a Voter’s Guide prior to the Nov. 6 General Election where all local candidates will be contacted.

Braham City Council
Patricia (Tish) Carlson filed for re-election as mayor of Braham.

Filing for two open seats on Braham City Council are Vicky Ethen, Jeremy Kunshier, Jason Lande, Allan Larson and Raymond Purdy. Current council members Terry Turnquist and Wayne Seiberlich did not file for re-election.

Cambridge City Council
Filing for two open seats on Cambridge City Council are current council members Lisa Iverson and Bob Shogren. Corey Bustrom, Howard “Howie” Lewis, Joseph Morin and Ronald Patrick also filed for the two open seats.

Cambridge-Isanti School Board
Filing for three open seats on the Cambridge-Isanti School Board are current school board chair Gary Hawkins, as well as Heidi Sprandel and Darcy Winsor. Current board members Anne Nelson and Jeanette Polzin did not file for re-election.

Even though only three filed for the three open seats, there will still be a general election for the school board.

up arrow
Don't Miss A Thing!

Our news stories are now available through email. Simply enter your email address below and click “Subscribe” to see the new stories every day.