Governor Dayton appoints Hiljus to fill Tenth Judicial District vacancy in Kanabec County

Governor Mark Dayton announced the appointment of Sheridan Hawley and  Stoney Hiljus as District Court Judges in Minnesota’s Tenth Judicial District.

Hawley will be replacing the Honorable Karla F. Hancock and Hiljus will be replacing the Honorable Timothy R. Bloomquist, who both retired in January 2012.

Hawley’s seat will be chambered in Elk River in Sherburne County and Hiljus’ seat will be chambered in Mora in Kanabec County.

“Ms. Hawley and Mr. Hiljus stood out from an excellent group of candidates. Their experience, perspective, and commitment to public service, will serve them well on the bench,” Governor Dayton said.

Stoney Hiljus

Hiljus serves as the Coon Rapids City Attorney where he leads the city’s in-house legal department. He previously served as city administrator and city council member of the city of Cambridge. Hiljus worked as the Chief Deputy Isanti County Attorney and as the Director of Legal Services for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe.

He has also served on various task forces including the Anoka County Domestic Violence Task Force, the Minnesota Association of City Attorneys conference planning committee and was recently elected an officer of the Association of City Attorneys. Hiljus received a B.S., magna cum laude, from Minnesota State University in Mankato in 1992; and a J.D. from Hamline University School of Law in Saint Paul in 1995.

Additionally, Hiljus has been an adjunct professor at Anoka Ramsey Community College and is an instructor with the Coon Rapids Police Citizens Academy. He has been a coach or judge in the Minnesota State Bar Association high school mock trial competition since 1997. Hiljus resides in Cambridge with his family.

Hawley maintains a solo law practice where she represents clients in child protection and family law matters in district and appellate courts. She also conducts alternative dispute resolutions in juvenile, civil and family cases. Prior to this, Hawley was an attorney with Walling, Berg & Debele, and has provided contract services to the Tenth District Public Defender’s Office.

Minnesota’s Tenth Judicial District consists of Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Pine, Sherburne, Washington and Wright counties.