Rep. Cravaack announces launch of student art contest

U.S. Representative Chip Cravaack (MN-8) announced the details of the 2012 Congressional Art Competition. Each spring, the Congressional Institute sponsors a nationwide high school visual art competition to recognize and encourage artistic talent in the nation and in each congressional district. The competition provides an opportunity for members of Congress to encourage and recognize the artistic talents of their young constituents.

“I am pleased to announce that my office will be sponsoring the 2012 Congressional Art Competition for 8th District high school students,” said Rep. Cravaack. “I welcome students from throughout the District to participate, and I look forward to seeing the fine work of many of our gifted young artists.”

The first place winner’s artwork will be displayed in the United States Capitol for a year-long “Artistic Discovery” exhibition which highlights the creative genius of young artists from across the nation. The second place winner’s artwork will be on display in Congressman Cravaack’s main office in North Branch, and honorable mention awards will be recognized with a Congressional letter of commendation.

For details regarding submission requirements, visit the U.S. House of Representatives website at,or contact the North Branch office at 651-237-8220 (toll free 888-563-7390).

Students who enter the competition need to complete the 2012 Student Information/Release Form and submit it along with their art entry by March 30, to one of the Congressman’s three district offices in Duluth, Brainerd or North Branch.

After judging is complete, artwork will be returned to the district office where it was submitted. Students will be able to pick up their art entries between April 16 and May 3.

Representative Cravaack serves on the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee – where he is Vice Chair of the Aviation Subcommittee – the Homeland Security Committee, and the Science, Space and Technology Committee. The 8th Congressional District covers 18 counties in Northeast Minnesota.