Two C-I teachers are candidates for ‘Teacher of the Year’

Bruce Danielson and Mike Sorn, teachers in the Cambridge-Isanti School District, are candidates for the 2012 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

Both teachers have accepted their nominations and completed the required materials to become eligible for the honor.

This year’s program will name the 48th Minnesota Teacher of the Year, celebrating the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers, from public or private schools. There are a total of 111 candidates this year.

The 2012 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced Sunday, May 6, at The Northland Inn in Brooklyn Park, Minn. Over the coming weeks, a 22-member panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists, and then finalists.

Education Minnesota organizes and underwrites the Minnesota Teacher of the Year Program.