Isanti County DFL attends state meeting

On Saturday, Feb. 5, four members of the Isanti County DFL and four members of the Chisago County DFL attended the State DFL Business Meeting at Dassel Cokato High School in Cokato, Minn.

Sue Larson, the Isanti County chair, attended along with Isanti County members Gary Oman, Karen Strike and Barb Kruschel from Isanti County. Chisago County DFLers attending the meeting were Steven Kling, Georgia Anderson, John Bruno and Senate District #17 Chair Steve Linnerooth.

Exiting State DFL chair, Brian Melendez, called the meeting to order and greeted the group. The agenda and rules for the meeting were adopted.

The attending membership listened to speeches by Paul Thiesen, who is the current Leader of the House Democrats. Thiesen talked about a Democratic vision for what needs to be achieved in the upcoming Minnesota Legislative Session. Members also listened to speeches from United States Congressman Tim Walz and United States Senator Amy Klobuchar, who listed some of the work and achievements done in last year’s Lame Duck Congress.

Brian Melendez, the outgoing chair, gave a good-bye speech, as he had been the DFL chair for six years. The membership then thanked him for his dedication and hard work, listing some of the achievements connected with his term in office. They also wished him luck in the future.

New officers were elected at the meeting. New State DFL Chair, Ken Martin, was elected by a unanimous white ballot as was its new Associate Chair, Marge Hoffa. Vanessa Blomgren was elected as DFL State Secretary and Tom Hamilton was elected as State DFL Treasurer.

In a three way race, Eric Margolis was elected State DFL Affirmative Action Officer. Lastly, there were two vacancies for state director and seven candidates were nominated, including local DFL Senate Chair, Steve Linnerooth. Each candidate gave a short speech and briefly answered questions. Members voted and adjourned. Chris Schmitter and Jamal Abdulah were elected.