Going ‘total theater’ in The Cave

CIHS One-Act prepares for busy performance stretch, including two public performances Jan. 28

Greg Hunt

The characters are searching for a purpose in “The Cave,” the selection chosen for the Cambridge-Isanti High School One-Act group to hone for this year’s performance schedule. Written by Tim Kelly, “The Cave” sends the C-I actors into a pretty strange place.

“Tim Kelly described ‘The Cave’ as ‘total theater,’” explained C-I Director Kelly Fahrni, who aims to guide the Bluejacket troupe back to State again this season. “The characters are archetypes representing people in the world, and they have to tackle the big philosophical questions of life: Who are we? Why are we here?”

So these characters wander through the play at first, because there is no director present to guide them. But there are evil personalities present, with the danger heightened when the ensembles chooses to exist in a cave, as opposed to the sea or the future. Will they be doomed by their choice, or is there hope waiting for them?

The C-I troupe will host a warm-up festival with Onamia, Pine City, Rush City and St. Francis this Friday, Jan. 21, then it will host the Mississippi 8 Conference Festival on Saturday, Jan. 22 (8:30 a.m. start).

Public performances of “The Cave” will be held Friday, Jan. 28 at 2 and 7 p.m. at the CIHS Hardy PAC. Subsection competition follows on Jan. 29 at North Branch, with the top plays advancing to the Section 7AA Festival Feb. 5 at Hermantown.

Cast & Crew of ‘The Cave’
 Elizabeth Nault-Maurer– The Believer; Hannah Palmer– The Cheat; Jon Wells– The Cynic; Kate Callen– The Dreamer; Cora Nelson– The Fearful One; Emily Ramstad– The Gatherer; Kara Sundvall– The Guardian; Noah Benson– The Hunter; Julia Neary– The Imposter; Jessica Peters– The Liar; Meghan Morin– The Optimist; Sydney Johnson– The Pessimist; Elise Bougie– The Romantic; James Hannan– The Sayer; Mikaela Kase– The Searcher; Madelyn Gunderson– The Self-Deceiver; Adam Peterson– The Sneak; Taylor Lehn– The Warrior.

Kelly Fahrni– The Director; Hannah Palmer & Jon Wells– The Student Directors; Andrew Pflipsen– The Light Man; Adelle Nelson– The Sound Woman; Jenn Hannan– The Stage Manager; Shanae Richardson & David Bonine– The Understudies.